Other Version: عربي
Home | Board of Directors | Media | Veterinary | News | References | Contact Us

First Endurance Ride in Bou Thieb

Munthar Ahmed Al Baloushi became the first winner for 2008-2009 endurance season when he was declared winner at the 100-km Bou Thieb Endurance Challenge for Junior and Young Riders held at the Village premises on Saturday, November 1, 2008.

Riding 11-year-old Part-Arab chestnut gelding Carallio, Munthar finished the four loops in three hours, 46 minutes and 51 seconds riding on an average speed of 26.45 kmph. Carallio is trained by the rider's elder brother Yousef Ahmad Al Baloushi.

Baloushi is from Al Reef Stables which is owned by Sheikh Tahnoun bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

Riding Carallio, an 11-year-old horse trained by his, Munthar scored his first win completing the 100km ride in three hours 46 minutes and 51 seconds.

Actually Munthar was not the first to cross the finish line. He was passed by Al Wathba's Abdullah Rashid Al Naqbi on EO Jaras on the final stretch. But EO Jaras failed to clear the final vet check. This made Munthar clinch the first place.

Sheikh Rashid Dalmook Juma Al Maktoum finished second riding 10-year-old Pure-Arabian chestnut gelding on Propadollah Bailey, which is owned by Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum. He crossed the finis \h line in four hours, seven minutes and 22 seconds, almost 21 minutes later than Baloushi. He average riding speed was 24.25 kmph.

Ahmed Salem Ali Sultan Al Subose was in third place riding 10-year-old Pure-Arabian grey gelding Woodbourne Carson, owned by Emirates Stables. His average speed was 22.71 kmph.

Early in the morning as many as 44 riders were flagged off to a mass start and as many as 13 riders successfully completed the ride.

The others who completed the ride include the following:

4. Aliya Ali Mohammad Yousuf Al Marzouki (Reesville Saban) 4:32.15, 5. Osama Ismael M. Haidar Ali (Worthalook) 4:47.05, 6. Rashid Araf Al Zarooni (Soughah/Shakira), 4:51:35, 7. Hamdan Mousa Mohammed Al Hammadi (Codici), 4:53:01, 8. Ahmed Saeed Mohd. Al Faresi (Alyah), 4:53:02, 9. Kaja Tuisk (Windvale Musician) 4:56:10, 10. Buti Mohd. Khalaf Al Marri (Dumar), 5:14:14, 11. Ahmed Mohd Kajm (Rio El Sahj), 5:25:25, 12. Hasan Mohd Hasan Al Hammadi (Jazzara) 5:30:40, 13. Abdul Aziz Salmeen Al Ameri (Rakhan Hem), 5:30:41.

<< Back to News